New Champions were Crowned

Permit Member of the Year Champions.

The 2017 Permit Member of the Year Challenge took place on December 7, 2017 at the South Point Arena in exciting Las Vegas. The Permit Challenge is held each year in conjunction with the Benny Binions Bucking Horse Sale, after each livestock buckout they auction off the stock that was just bucked. This rodeo gives the chance to show off the up and coming  human and animal contestants of ProRodeo. The contestants who qualify and compete in the Permit Member of the Year Challenge are the best of the best permit holders. Many contestants who have qualified and competed for this Challenge have gone on to compete in the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, and some have even gone on to take home a Gold Buckle becoming World Champions.

This years competition was stacked with talent, bringing back some competitors who were fighting to keep their title of Permit Member of the Year, and some new faces including a former NFL Super Bowl Champion, Bear Pascoe who went on to win the Steer Wrestling this year! This year also featured a “Rookie Ride Off” which consisted of the top 5 Rookie Bull Riders who got a chance to compete for the shot at some of the $21,000 in prize money.

Let’s Congratulate all the Champions of this years Permit Member of the Year Challenge!!

Bareback Riding-Tyler Berghuis (Stephenville, TX)                                                                                    Saddle Bronc Riding- Johnny Espeland (Tygh Valley, OR)                                                                         Bull Riding-Colby Demo (Gerber,CA)                                                                                                         Tie-Down Roping- Cody Craig (Wendell, ID)                                                                                              Steer Wrestling- Bear Pascoe (Morro Bay, CA)                                                                                           Team Roping Header- Jeff Flenniken (Caldwell, ID)                                                                                   Team Roping Heeler- Wyatt Hansen (Oakdale, CA)                                                                                  Rookie Bull Rider- Shad Heiner (Morgan, UT)

Stayed tuned for the entire press release which will include times and places of all competitors.

Comments are closed.